Skip to content
Updated health and safety protocols for Symphony Hall, effective May 11
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Habibi, Haydn, and Shostakovich with Thomas Rolfs, trumpet and Yuja Wang, piano

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Dynamic Chinese pianist Yuja Wang plays not one but both of Dmitri Shostakovich’s piano concertos, written 24 years apart, part of the BSO and Andris Nelsons’ multi-season exploration of the composer’s major works with orchestra. A BSO-commissioned work by the young Iranian Canadian composer Iman Habibi opens the program. The concert closes with Joseph Haydn’s Symphony No. 100, whose nickname comes from the surprising appearance of percussion in the slow movement.

Performance Details

Sep 30, 2022, 1:30pm EDT

Symphony Hall

Getting Here

Plan Your Visit